Incubation

Photo by Raphael Brasileiro on Pexels.com

Facing you

Nervous, excited as you begin the story

My eyes are open

And fall on your fairness

I’ve come with a question, and

I think you are about to make it all very clear

.

Then

Our link drops

And I am frantic to re-connect

All else I can access

But not you

You are gone

.

I am panting, pacing in this vacuum

And then, somehow

I am led

To your home

.

In the midst of redwoods

And concrete business park modules

I find your door down a pathway

A sign, swinging in the wind

Its Irish words guide me

The threshold is open

And I cross over it

.

I see it is not only me you’ve invited

There are many families and faces

Circled in the space

They welcome me

They somehow know me

And I can feel your vibration, buzzing

Somewhere in the field

But I cannot see you

Why can I not see you

Anymore?

.

Then

I am in the circle

Although I only know it by touch now

Two large women flank and hold me

Their large, black breasts cover my eyes

I am cradled, but cannot see

I feel you, but I cannot see

.

I came to you with a question

And you disappeared

Or did you simply become the tale?

Dropping me away from your visage

Into this strange reality

Is it the answer I really need?

.

A confusing landscape

This place you’ve led me to –

Your wife, crying, out in the rain

The blind buxom holding, welcoming

Circles, ancestral words

And somehow, your tiny babies

Encased with kittens, dying of thirst

Digging my way to them,

I try to quench

But I cannot see

My hands fumble

And the mother is dry

All this blackness, covering

All this strangeness cradling

All these people, smiling

Welcoming, dying, crying, birthing

I feel you watching, but cannot see you

I want to see you in all of this

So bad

.

Here, in the Darkness

It is now silent

I feel your vibration yet can’t see the image

I want your shiny, rational curriculum

My teeth grow longer,

Salivation dripping as I think of it

Yet what you immerse me in

Is this the messy answer?

.

In the Darkness

Swimming in these moon-land images

Why have you brought me here?

I have asked, hoping for a shining light

Now feeling all the more lost

.

It comforts me, this possibility

That you respond from your absence

That you still, somehow touch me

And that someday

I will see you

And everything

Again

Leave a comment