Nightmares

The Nightmare, Henry Fuseli (1871) By Tulip Hysteria / Go to albums – https://www.flickr.com/photos/36417567@N03/32380012237/, CC BY 2.5, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=111521078

Fun fact

I’m obsessed with Nightmares

Sleeping ones

Waking ones

Those creatures that suffocate in the dark

Those creatures that suffocate

In the light

Repeating

Repeating

I am obsessed

Fascinated

With why they are

Repeating

Repeating

Terrorizing

Me

.

Night Mare

The mythological beast tormenting

The sorcerous demons

The goblins that ride my chest

While I gasp, scream, weep

Hoping for the dawn

.

Oh, Sleeping, dreaming Mare

Unearthing the gargantuan spectres

That swim in my long-forgotten hollows

Those begging for attention

Begging for engagement

Begging

For a stand-off

.

Oh, sleeping, dreaming Mare

I am obsessed with how you turn

When I can stop and face you

Those times

When the clock numbers shimmer

And I realize I am not awake

Facing you

The scales and teeth I feel in your pursuit

Smooth out, and there’s a kind look

Pleading

I find in our eyes

.

Why do you come, Mare?

What do you have to teach?

How long

How long

Repeating

Repeating

Have you sought for my face?

.

Night Mares

I’m obsessed

With why they come repeating

With why they kill, suffocate, torture

With how they chase me

Over and over

Until, hopefully, one day

I might turn

.

Obsessed, also

With you, Day Mare

The patterns that repeat themselves

Over and over again

As if I am waking

And walking

And sludging

Through the same dead dream

.

The mythological beast

The sorcerous demon

The goblin riding my chest

How are you

Embodying the skins of beings

I am challenged to face each day?

How are you slithering

In the repeating arguments

In the cyclical frustrations

In the same problem

Appearing

In different bodies

.

What happens if I face you

In the waking hours,

Asking the question

Of what you’ve come to teach me?

Will your scales, your fang-laced suffocation

Reveal pleading and wise eyes

When I stop running away

When I turn to face you

When I recognize the

Repeating

Repeating

Nightmare

Daymare

Coming to wake me

up

.

Fun fact

I’m obsessed with Night Mares

I’m obsessed with Day Mares

I’m obsessed with who you are

And that knife in your hand

And what will happen

If I turn and plunge myself into

Your teaching

.

It is time

To wake up

It is time

To wake up

It is time

To wake up

Leave a comment